Coalesce Inc.’s Blog

marketing, design and office fun

What Coupons Can Do For You

Posted by coalescemarketing on January 6, 2012

I’ve been in a hair rut as of late. Bear with me. I have a point. Here’s the thing, I’m in between styles and everything having to do with my long locks has gone flat. I’ve been in the midst of trying to figure out a new do, lamenting my current hair products and at the same time cursing the shampoo gods for making their creamy lather so expensive.

Cue a coupon miracle.

The other day, I happened to be flipping through the weekend circular, the Target ad to be exact, and I came across a promotion for a 2 for $5 deal for a specific company’s hair products. “Wow,” I thought, doing the math in my head, “that means I can get BOTH my shampoo and conditioner for only 5 bucks.” My spirits began to rise. I then decided to check out a few couponing sites as well as the Target.com on the off chance I could maximize the potential of this deal with a manufacturer’s coupon. After all, we’re in a digital age, and I figured just maybe this company had thought ahead and considered Jenny Customer (aka me) who was looking for a deal through her most used media platform. Lo and behold, I found an online $1 off coupon put out by the company of the product I was thinking of buying.

My decision was made.

Even when I got to the store and was bombarded with a number of other offers as I perused the shampoo aisle, I stuck with my first choice. Why? Because I had a coupon; it was a great deal; and I felt like the company was trying to help me out – a simple consumer with hair issues.

What’s the moral of this story? Coupons work. At a time when money is tight and everyone is looking for ways to pinch pennies, coupons are a great way to build rapport with customers. Shoot, I’m so pleased with my recent coupon experience (and, for the record, I’m loving my new shampoo), I may just become a brand loyalist.

What’s more, as my experience shows, coupon placement is everything. If you’re thinking of offering a coupon promotion or a discount for your services, think about where your target audience is most likely going to see it, and put it there. Need help brainstorming? We’d love to chat with you! Give our office a call at 920-380-4444.

2 Responses to “What Coupons Can Do For You”

  1. Hello,

    You are definitely correct about the usefulness of coupons, especially in a down economy. It would seem you missed a very important point though. When dealing with coupons, companies need to be very aware of price sensitivity in regards to their brand.

    A good example of this would by Kohl’s department stores. No one ever shops there unless those 30 or 40 percent off coupons in the mail. While these help drive people to the store and sell product they can have a negative impact on a company’s profit margin in the long term.

    Sincerely,

    Nathan J. Evrard

    • coalescemarketing said

      Thanks for the feedback, Nathan. You make a very good point. Every business needs to evaluate its potential ROI when it comes to coupon campaigns and determine what it stands to gain (or lose) from offering a deal. It’s important to keep in mind that when a business looks into providing consumers with a coupon, there is not a one-size-fits-all approach. Careful analysis of long-term goals and outcomes is necessary. Thanks again for your insightful comment!

Leave a Reply

 
