Coalesce Inc.’s Blog

marketing, design and office fun

Transparency

Posted by coalescemarketing on June 15, 2012

I recently had an eye appointment. The doctor I visited could not have been more evasive in answering my questions. He told me I needed to come back for a procedure, but didn’t really explain why or what it would cost me out-of-pocket. I left feeling as if I was being completely taken advantage of. Needless to say, I didn’t go back. Instead, I sought out another opinion. The second eye doctor I saw clearly explained to me what needed to happen, why it needed to happen, how soon it could happen and exactly what it would cost me. Talk about opposite experiences!

These varying encounters got me thinking about something I’ve heard referred to in business as “transparency.” The term itself is often found on lists of buzz words categorized as “cliches.” I find the term “transparency” to be rather abstract, but if we unpack what is really meant when the term is used, I must admit that the sentiment makes sense.

I think what we really mean when we throw around the term “transparency” is honesty, straightforwardness and disclosure. Those are characteristics I can get behind. The second eye doctor showed me the respect I deserved as a client when he honestly explained what needed to happen and was upfront with me about how much it would cost. I knew what I was getting into, and I could make a decision based on all the facts.

This is what we owe our clients. Call it transparency. Call it honesty. Call it good business. To be fair to those we serve, we must be truthful with them about our skills, about our limitations and about how much it’s going to cost them. Doing so goes a long way in fostering lasting relationships and future business.

I’ll be going back to the (second) eye doctor.

Leave a Reply

 
